It’s 1955 and college sweethearts Rudy Brown and Lizzie Conlon embark on writing the ultimate award-winning musical.  So begins a 60-year process of adapting the same musical to the styles of My Fair Lady, West Side Story, Cabaret, Les Miserables, Wicked, and virtually every other show in the musical theatre canon.   Will they ever win  Musical of the Year?


From the writing team of Stephen Lanigan-O’Keeffe (book, music and lyrics) and Owain Rose (book),  Musical of the Year premiered at The Lost Theatre, London in 2016.

Original production credits include:

Direction by Owain Rose (Misterman,  Upstairs at the Gatehouse;  Silence,  The Bull in Barnet)

Musical direction by Stephen Lanigan-O’Keefe (Beowulf, Travesty Theatre;  Fallen Angels, Upstairs at the Gatehouse)

Choreography by Emma Pleass (Cabaret,  The Lund Theatre;  Scaramouche,  the Zany Commedia Musical, Hoxton Hall)

Ddesign by Frank Turnbull (Blackadder, The Bull Theatre;  Frankenstein,  Upstairs at the Gatehouse).


"Musical of the Year" is an irreverent love-letter to musical theatre's ever-changing style and constant charm.

For up-to-the-minute information, follow us on twitter.

When you tweet, please use #MusicaloftheYear.

Print | Sitemap
© Elokay Productions 2014